Formula E CEO Agag does not understand Mercedes’ departure from the electric car category

Alejandro Agag cannot understand that the Mercedes team is leaving Formula E. The founder of the electric category says it’s not an appropriate decision, as the German brand is selling more and more electric cars.

Formula E was first held in 2014 and has gained increasing popularity in the years since. Ahead of the 2020/2021 Formula E season, the electric car class was named the official FIA World Championship. However, a lot of big names have exited the sport in recent seasons. In 2020, Audi and BMW announced their retirement from the sport at the end of the 2020/2021 Formula E season. However, it didn’t stop there. At the end of 2021, after winning the constructors’ championship and the drivers’ championship, Mercedes announced that it would also leave the sport at the end of 2022. Agag does not understand that.

“I can’t understand their decision,” Agag said. Motorsports TV. “It just amazes me. They are selling more and more electric cars. In 2030 they will stop selling combustion engine cars in the UK. To get back to racing with a combustion engine…maybe they want something from ‘other dances,'” he explains. Fuel in recent years, then maybe they will return to electric racing in 2030. And maybe soon,” he continues. “I can’t understand the decision, but it’s not a problem.”

Amazing stat: Only McLaren finished 1-2 in 2021Read more

pink future

Although Formula E will soon go on without BMW, Audi and Mercedes, Agag is not worried about the future of the electric racing series. He anticipates the emergence of a sufficient number of new manufacturers. “We will be joining the new manufacturers very soon,” he says. “We have great independent teams. You have to prepare to play championships only with independent teams. Formula E is in perfect condition,” Agag said.

See also  Spanish media criticize Barcelona: "Frenkie de Jong was the driving force" | Foreign football

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *