G20 countries agree to limit global warming to 1.5 degrees

This was reported by the news agencies AFP and Bloomberg. They have seen the initial version of a joint statement.

According to the media outlets that have seen the statement, the document does not contain sufficient concrete measures to achieve this goal.

Average high temperatures

G20 leaders agreed to text that goes beyond what was agreed at the 2015 climate conference. The nations then agreed to limit the increase in average global temperature to well beyond the end of the century. Less than two degrees, preferably up to 1.5 degrees at most.

This is the Group of Twenty

from G20 It consists of the nineteen richest countries in the world and the European Union. These are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, South Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, South Africa, the United Kingdom, the United States, and thus the European Union.

Together, this group of countries represents about 85 percent of the total world economy and 75 percent of world trade. The G-20 is also responsible for emitting an estimated 80 percent of all greenhouse gases in the world.

Coal-fired power plants

The G20 countries also agreed to completely stop financing the dirtiest types of coal-fired power plants abroad. The statement said that all such investments should stop at the end of this year.

But also no target date was mentioned in the statement to end coal-fired electricity generation.

Climate Summit in Glasgow

At the United Nations conference, which will run until November 12, the countries will discuss, among other things, options for limiting global warming. The equitable distribution of climate change law, phasing out coal, preserving nature, and making all kinds of rules resulting from the 2015 Paris climate agreement are also important topics.

Here you can read everything About what we can expect from the Climate Summit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *