Guevara won the Moto3 race in Australia and took the world title in style

Izan Guevara – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit | © Russell Colvin

Izan Guevara won the Moto3 race at the Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit in Australia on Sunday morning. In a thrilling race, the Spaniard attacked on the last lap to take the win and take the Moto3 World Championship.

On Sunday morning at 11:05 local time, 02:05 Dutch time, the Moto3 race began over 23 laps on the Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit. There was a five-minute delay due to heavy rain during the warm-up session, so we had to wait for the tar to dry again. The race was eventually declared a ‘dry race’ with all drivers on slicks.

Izán Guevara entered the race 49 points ahead of Dennis Foggia and 56 points clear of Cascas Aspar teammate Sergio Garcia. If he overtakes the Italian and loses no more than six points to the Spaniard, Guevara will be the new Moto3 champion.

With the exception of pole sitter Ayumu Sasaki, Diogo Moreira, Dani Holgado, Adrian Fernandez, Ryuichi Yamanaka, Riccardo Rossi and Javi Artigas, most drivers opted for the soft compound front and soft compound rear tyre. Rear tire fitted..

Sergio Garcia made the best start, taking the first corner ahead of Diogo Moreira and Ivan Ortola. Polesitter Ayumu Sasaki dropped to fourth ahead of Stefano Nepa and World Cup leader Izan Guevara, with Deniz Öncü, David Muñoz, Carlos Tatay and Jaume Masià rounding out the top ten.

On the second lap, Moreira took the lead from Garcia and Sasaki moved into third. Together with Öncü and Ortolá, these drivers were able to create a small gap towards Guevara, who was already leading the group.

See also  WAPA presents an annual harvest estimate of the best fruits from the Southern Hemisphere

Guevara took home rider Joel Kelso into his slipstream and they moved forward leaving the leading group on the third lap of seven drivers. There was a lot of change and wet spots here and there were very treacherous for the drivers.

That’s what Dani Holgado and Taio Furusato experienced entering Turn 8 (Hashed) on lap three, where they both went downhill at high speed. Both drivers appeared to be unhurt but their race was over.

It was hard to see Guevara driving for a championship as the Spaniard made some very impressive overtakes. However, teammates Garcia and Moreira weren’t ready to give it to him and did their best to stay ahead of him.

At the end of lap six, Garcia broke away from the pack and built a half-second lead over Sasaki. Öncü was third at the time, and Guevara motioned for the others to work together to keep Garcia from escaping. John McPhee found the link so that the leading group now had eight drivers, who had a lead of about 2.5 seconds on the group behind.

Going into the ninth lap, Guevara closed the gap on his teammate Garcia and immediately left the slipstream before taking the lead in Turn 1 (Doohan Corner).

A lap later, Garcia continued to attack and regained the lead entering Turn 4 (Miller Corner). Sasaki and Anku rode behind, while a small gap opened up for Kelso, McBee, Moreira and Nepa.

See also  Dj 66 MP Jord Szortsma, ambassador to the list of Chinese sanctions

On lap 11, Guevara dove back into the lead from Garcia’s slipstream. With Öncü behind, these four drivers now have a one second lead towards the group behind.

Despite being teammates, Guevara and Garcia crossed paths with each other many times. Sasaki was able to intervene from time to time while Öncü watched from fourth place, the Turkish driver suffering from his injured left arm in Japan, but managed to keep up the pace. At the halfway point of the race, this leading group of four drivers had a margin of more than two seconds over the group behind.

Going into lap sixteen, Sasaki managed to get out of Guevara’s slipstream and take the lead. That was short-lived as Garcia simultaneously moved from P3 to the lead with a very impressive maneuver at Turn 4 (Miller Corner). Guevara was able to move up to second behind his teammate, which really started the battle.

Guevara, Sasaki, Garcia and Öncü put on a great show, changing the order at almost every turn. Although the drivers occasionally touched each other, nothing silly was done and it was a sight to behold.

So it all came down to the final lap of the race. Garcia took the lead on the straight but it was Aung who took advantage of the slipstream at Turn 1 (Doohan Corner). However, Guevara was more heroic at Turn 2 (Southern Loop) and immediately took the lead from the Turkish driver. The Spaniard then played a perfect final round where he gave his opponents no chance to mount another attack.

With a lead of 0.345 seconds, Guevara eventually crossed the line as the winner ahead of Öncü and García. With this, Guevara became the new world champion in the Moto3 class with two races to go. Sasaki crossed the finish line and missed the podium, followed by Stefano Nepa, John McPhee, Diogo Moreira, Joel Kelso, Dennis Foggia and Riccardo Rossi in the top ten.

The race saw crashes for Scott Ogden, Tatsuki Suzuki, Ryuuji Yamanaka and Mario Aji.

Winner's obituary


Useful Links Animoga Brands Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix:

Time Table and Full Results
Where to Follow on TV
Photo report

Sponsor of

Are you a loyal visitor to this website, do you want to support the work of the editorial team and would you like to continue to have the chance to win amazing prizes? Become a supporter now.

More information:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *