Nancy van de Ven wins an important Dutch motorsport award

Women’s Motocross World Champion Nancy van de Ven is presented with the Hans de Beaufort Trophy. Van de Ven received the award from NOC*NSF director Marc van den Tweel during the KNMV Motorsport ceremony at Studio 21 in Hilversum.

The Hans de Beaufort Cup has been awarded by the Board of Directors of the Royal Dutch Motorcyclist Association (KNMV) since 1947 in the years when the Dutch motorsports athlete gave world-class performance and was an ambassador for the sport off the track. After five second places in the final World Cup standings, it’s finally been beaten to Van de Ven in 2022: the world title. And now also the Hans de Beaufort Cup, as the first single lady.

Nancy van de Ven: “I wasn’t expecting this. The evening went so smoothly. But, when the band just started playing Natural Woman, I thought, ‘It just can’t be. ‘ And yet!”

Mark van den Tuyl: “It is a great honor to be able to award the Hans de Beaufort Cup. First of all, of course, because Nancy van de Ven is a great athlete, who finally and deservedly became the world champion. In addition, she is an inspiring example for many Young women who are passionate about motorsports. Her achievements are important for making the sport more popular among girls and women.”

Ben Major Cup

Rick Elzinga became the European 250cc Motocross Champion last season and won the Dutch Masters Championship in 250cc motocross. As icing on the cake, he was awarded the Ben Major Trophy for Talent of the Year during the ceremony. Rick will start in the MX2 World Championship next season and the trophy was presented to him by David Luongo, Director of InFront Moto Racing and World Motocross Championship organizer.

David Longo: “Champions are the core of our sport. They give young athletes a dream and a purpose. That’s why these successes should be celebrated on nights like these. Successes like Rick’s, who deserve this award so much.

Rick Elzinga: “It was great to be European champion, I’ve always worked for this. The team, my family, the bike, the feeling… everything has to be fine to ride out a season like this. The next step is of course to become champion world. I hope to do that in the future.”

Motorsports Cardio and Sustainability Cup

Erik Polsink received the heart of motorsports during the ceremony. Honorary Award for Special Effort in Motorsport. Although he has taken a step back, Polsink has been a well-known face in the Dutch motorcycle world for decades as a journalist and editor-in-chief of various magazines.

The first recipient of the new Sustainability Trophy was Jan Olthoff. On behalf of Motorclub Nijverdal-Hellendoorn (MCNH), he is participating in a successful collaboration with Staatsb Glosbeheer regarding the prevention of wildcrossing. Since last fall, the search has been done with electric motors.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *