Otterspeer for the fourth time Dutch sprint champion

Speed ​​skater Hein Otterspeer became the Dutch sprint champion for the fourth time. 34-year-old Southlander van Rijburgh finished third in the last 1000m in 1.07.71. The win went to Kjeld Neuss, with a time of 1:07.39, ahead of Olympic champion Thomas Kroll (1:07.64).

Mirren Scheperkamp finished second in the standings after 1.07.96 in the 1000-meter race. Kai Verbig finished third in the standings with a 1:08.08. Olympic champions Noyes and Kroll kept off the podium.

Otterspier won the 1000m on Tuesday, with a time of 1.07.53. In doing so, he distanced himself from his competitors. With 34.89 meters per second in the 500 metres, the fourth fastest time, he maintained his lead. In the 1000 metres, against Scheperkamp, ​​he stayed ahead of the 22-year-old Jumbo-Visma runner with a strong second run.

World Champion and European Champion Kroll missed the podium despite his first time of 1:07.64 and therefore cannot defend his title in the European Championship race. Kroll lags behind a disappointing 500m in 35.39. The top three NK Sprint skaters have a chance to be selected for the European Championships. Despite winning his second 1000 metres, Nuis finished fifth, also behind Jano Putmann.

Otterspier previously won the national sprint title in 2015, 2019 and 2021. He also finished second three times and third once. A Reggeborgh runner has not yet won an international sprint title.

Source: National Ports Agency

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *