Premier League darts will return to Ahoy in 2023, PDC announces host cities | sports

The Premier League Darts Association has announced that it will return to the Ahoy next year. This is the sixth time that Rotterdam has hosted the prestigious darts tournament won by Michael Van Gerwin this year.

The Premier League has been coming to the Ahoy annually since 2016, with the exceptions of 2020 and 2021. The PDC has yet to announce the dates for next year.

The Circus of Arrows will remain mainly in the UK in 2023. Besides Rotterdam, only Berlin (Germany) and Dublin (Ireland) are excluded. Wales has one run with Cardiff, just like Northern Ireland with Belfast. Aberdeen and Glasgow are the host cities in Scotland.

Within England, Birmingham, Brighton, Exeter, Leeds, Liverpool, London, Manchester, Newcastle, Nottingham and Sheffield are the host cities.

This year, the English Premier League was played in a new format for the first time. During the sixteen rounds, the eight participants always played a mini tournament. After four rounds in the quarter-finals, two semi-finals and a final, the winner of the day received €12,000. In addition, the winner gets five points for the ranking. The losing finalist receives three and the semi-finalist receives two. Previously, players played one match per round and got points for victories or draws. The top four competitions in the final standings went into effect during the last evening. Van Gerwin eventually defeated Joe Cullen in the final fight.

Watch our videos about World Cup darts below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *