Sonny Colbrelli wins the European Heavyweight Championship | Cycling

This time there was no leading group with exotic items that were given so much space, as is often the case in tournaments. Instead, a company took off with four Spaniards (including Mikel Landa, Jorca Izaguerre, and David de la Cruz) and three Frenchmen (including Thibaut Pinot). The Italians, Germans, Austrians, Swiss and Belgians had a pawn with them too, so Holland belonged to the group of large nations that missed the battle. Anyway, the Dutch quickly got away from the peloton, while the race was tough. Only Quinn Bowman survived the first stage without any problems. Bucky Mollema was released several times, but he was always able to come back.

In the meantime, the leading group was given a little space and reeled back into the Trento circuit, leaving an elite peloton of about fifty men with only a hundred kilometers to travel. It was a harbinger of a very tough race, as an elite group finally set off with Tadej Pogacar, Remco Evenpoel, Mathieu Trentin, Benoit Cosnefroy, Pavel Sivakov, Mark Hershey and Sonny Colbrelli.

Remko Evenpoel.

Remko Evenpoel.

Evenpole had a servant with Ben Hermans, who ensured that a stalking group with Mollema could not make contact. About twenty kilometers from the end, Evenepoel attacked. Cosnefroy and Colbrelli managed to catch on, but not for the rest, including the Pogacar Tour winner.

Cosnefroy also appears to have been boiled, since he was released at the start of the climb. Colbrelli had the world’s greatest difficulty maintaining his fired Evenepoel wheel. The Belgian did all the head work for miles, but he couldn’t get the home favorite.

See also  Room for rap on Allen's posthumous album

Then Colbrelli showed his super form in the sprint. Having already won the Benelux round last week, the Italian champion has triumphed at home. Cosnefroy snatched bronze within a minute and a half from the leading duo. Mollema was the best Dutchman who ranked 17th.

Van Aert sprints for overall victory in the Tour of Great Britain

Wout van Aert won the Great Britain Tour. The eight-day staged race ended with a trip from Stonehaven to Aberdeen over rolling terrain. The Belgian won the sprint and, thanks to the extra seconds, overtook Briton Ethan Hayter in the standings.

In particular, the Jumbo-Visma and Deceuninck-QuickStep teams led the search for four final-stage refugees. The Dutch team knew Van Aert needed the extra seconds at stake to prevent Hayter from winning. At Deceuninck, the goal was to help Briton Mark Cavendish win the stage. In the sprint race, Van Aert was ahead of German Andre Greipel and Cavendish. It was his fourth stage win in eight days in Great Britain.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *