The Algarve gets orange travel advice, but no quarantine obligation; For mainland Spain, “essential travel only” will continue to apply.

British tourists and holiday home owners are queuing in droves at Faro Airport after travel advice for the Algarve was tightened dramatically.Environmental Protection Agency’s photo

The Algarve will receive orange travel advice from Thursday, and holiday trips are not recommended. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced this morning. Furthermore, travel advice within the European Union will not change. However, many countries outside the European Union will be added to the safe list, if these countries allow Dutch tourists, travel advice will go from orange to yellow tomorrow.

Dutch nationals who are now on holiday in the Algarve must show vaccination, recovery or a negative test certificate upon return. Home quarantine is not necessary. The foreign ministry said the motto “essential travel only” also applies to Dutch people who have already been vaccinated.

The Lisbon region remains orange, just like the Spanish mainland. Infections are also increasing in Spain, especially in Catalonia, Andalusia and Valencia. Some yellow areas may change color soon. RIVM says it is closely monitoring the situation in Spain’s Canary Islands and the Balearic Islands, and the Yellow Zones in Portugal and Cyprus.

Most likely, the advice will be modified for a large number of European countries outside the EU. The list of countries that are safe from coronavirus in the European Union is expanding. From Thursday, the following countries will be considered “virus-free”: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Canada, Kosovo, Jordan, Moldova, Montenegro, Qatar and Saudi Arabia.

The Netherlands bases its travel advice for countries outside the European Union on this list. Many of these countries do not yet allow Dutch tourists. The advice for countries that allow tourists will turn yellow tomorrow. This means that holiday trips to Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Moldova and Montenegro will again be allowed. Tourism from the Netherlands to Canada is not allowed at the moment.

See also  Experimental cancellations begin due to the rejection of the Dutch mouth caps

Within the orange countries, the ministry distinguishes between high and very high risks. The ministry does not see any very high risks in the EU, so there is no obligation to quarantine EU orange countries, just like Norway.

Mongolia, Namibia, Oman and Kuwait will change from high-risk areas to high-risk areas on July 8. From that moment on, the obligation to quarantine and test applies to these countries. Bahrain and Cape Verde are changing from high-risk areas to high-risk areas, which means that the quarantine obligation ends.

Yellow or green advice does not mean that any country is freely accessible, many countries have entry restrictions. For example, a negative test, vaccination certificate, or advance registration is often required. Within the European Union and for travel to Norway, Iceland, Iceland, Switzerland and Liechtenstein, the CoronaCheck app can be used. The ministry always recommends checking travel advice in advance and not relying solely on colors when planning a trip.

Many popular holiday destinations like Germany, France and Italy have already turned green in the past week. The Department does not see any special security risks for holiday trips to these countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *