The Americans win the team pursuit and the Netherlands with the sixth team | sports

The US speed skating team wins the men’s chase at the World Cup in Calgary. Casey Dawson, Emery Lyman and Ethan Seaboran managed to set a best time without captain Joey Mantia: 3.35.58. The Americans won the World Cup thanks to their second consecutive win in this segment.

Norway, the Olympic champion, took second place with a time of 3.36.24, and Russia took third place with a time of 3.39.54. Holland had to settle for sixth place (3.41.83) in a cross formation. Marcel Busker, Bart Hollwerf and Marwin Talsma participated on behalf of Team Orange.

With Sven Kramer, Patrick Roest and Busker on the team, the Netherlands won the team’s first World Cup race last month. An accidental team with Jan Blokhuisen, Talsma and Busker also finished sixth during last weekend’s third World Cup Finals in Salt Lake City.

group start

Italy’s Francesca Lollobrigida won the women’s collective start. She defeated Canada’s Ivani Blondin and Russia’s Elizaveta Goluyipeva after sixteen rounds. Newcomers Evelyn Feigen and Robin Groot finished off the track. They qualified for the final battle through the semi-finals.

Erin Scotten and Marijk Gruenwood, No. 2 and 3 in the World Cup standings until Calgary, skipped the fourth World Cup in Canada. Blondin remained at the top of the World Cup standings.

Women’s block start. © AP

Moesjtakov . record

Russian figure skater Viktor Moshtakov won the second round of the 500-meter race at the fourth World Cup in Calgary. He won in a personal best of 33.90 seconds, thanks in part to a super quick opener of 9.39. It was Moshtakov’s first podium in the 500m this season at a World Cup.

See also  Sports short: Yan Dijkima succeeded by the Koreans as president of ISU | sports

Japan’s Yuma Murakami won the silver with a time of 33.99. Canadian Laurent Dubreuil finished third with a time of 34.06 points. For the World Cup leader, it was his eighth place on the podium this season in the 500m in this circuit.

Victor Moisetakov.
Victor Moisetakov. © AP

Bowie narrow victory

Brittany Boye won the 1500m at the World Cup Speed ​​Skating in Calgary. The American rider narrowly won with a time of 1.52.05. Japan’s Nana Takagi ranked second with a personal best of 1.52.06. Her compatriot Ayano Sato won the bronze with a time of 1.52.19.

Miho Takagi did not run the 1500m in Calgary. The world record holder from Japan (1.49.83) won the first three World Cup competitions at this distance. It slipped to third place in the World Cup standings. Sato is the new leader, followed by Bo.

The Netherlands is not represented in Calgary’s ice skating mile today in Section A. Olympic champion Irene Fust and Dutch champion Antoinette de Jong, among others, have chosen a different path toward the Olympic qualification tournament in Heerenveen at the end of this month.

© AP

Ning wins 1000m

In the absence of competition from the Netherlands, China’s Zhongyan Ning won the 1000m at the Speed ​​Skating World Cup in Calgary. He won in his personal best time of 1.06.65. He surprised 17-year-old American Jordan Stolz with the silver medal, and also scored a personal best result (1.06.96). Russian Viktor Moshtakov, winner of the 500m race earlier in the day, finished third with a record of 1.06.98.

See also  RPC athlete wins Paralympic silver in table tennis

Russia’s world record holder Pavel Kolezhnikov (1.05.69) was disappointed once again. He drove for the nineteenth time with 1.08.60. Earlier today, Kulijjnikov did not pass 34.40 in Group B at the 500m.


World Cup standings


Getty Images
© Getty Images

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *