This way you can free up more space in your Dropbox storage

Dropbox gives you 2GB of storage by default with a Dropbox Basic account. But even if you get some extra extra space, you may run out of space. How do you clean Dropbox? By taking a closer look at how you handle your storage. For example, automatic image upload turned out to be a huge space load. You are inadvertently storing a lot of files that you don’t really need at all. So, 5 tips to completely clean up your Dropbox storage.

#1 Critically Browse Dropbox Camera Uploads Folder

The Dropbox app can automatically upload any photos and videos you take to your Dropbox online storage. You set this in the “Settings” tab under the option Camera uploads. This feature is very useful because if you lose your iPhone, you will not lose all your loved photos. But you’ll also take a lot of photos without even noticing that you really don’t want to keep them: photos of meals, ten photos of the same event, photos of a night out, most of which fail… It’s worth looking through your camera’s uploads folder. Browse to see photos that are no longer want to keep it. Selfies, for example, are fun for a little while, but not all of them are fun enough that you’ll still have them in a few years.

Open your Dropbox account and go to the Camera Uploads folder. If you are a business user, you will find your camera uploads in your personal folder.

#2 Clear Dropbox Cache

from Dropbox – Hideout It is automatically emptied every three days. If you need instant storage space or want to delete sensitive files, you can clear the cache right away. Here’s how to do it on a Mac:

  1. Open Finder on your Mac and press Shift-Command-G.
  2. Copy and paste the following destination: ~/Dropbox/.dropbox.cache
  3. You will now go directly to the Dropbox cache folder.
  4. Drag unwanted files from this folder to the Trash.
See also  Animal of the week: Blinky and his mates search for space for ...

#3 Do not upload screenshots to Dropbox

If you regularly take screenshots and screen recordings on your Mac, you know that things can get messy at some point. with the Screenshot function You can automatically save screenshots and screenshots from your Mac to your Dropbox account. When this feature is enabled, the following occurs:

  • Screenshots and screenshots are automatically saved to a folder called Screenshots.
  • A link to your screenshot or screenshot will be copied to your clipboard for easy sharing.

This sounds great, of course, but it also means that your Dropbox storage is slowly filling up with screenshots you’ll never look at. So it’s good to know if you can’t empty the entire folder. Screenshots often have a limited shelf life: after a week you no longer need them. So, clean them up!

#4 Compress files before uploading them
You want to save some photos in high resolution. But there are also funny or playful images, but you do not need to have them in full size. You can fix this by compressing images using apps like ImageOptim. ImageOptim ensures that images take up less space, without significantly degrading their quality. Choose only the photos you don’t want to print or use in future collages.

With documents, you can put them in a zip file first, so they take up less space.

See also  Radio telescope in Namibia | Radio NPO 1

#5 Prevent Dropbox From “Eating” Your Hard Drive
Another problem is that Dropbox files are taking up too much space on your Mac. This is because you also store (almost) all of your Dropbox files locally on your Mac’s hard drive. Fortunately, you can fix this by enabling selective sync.

Here’s how selective sync works:

  1. Open your preferences in the Dropbox desktop app.
  2. Click the Sync tab.
  3. Click below selective sync Select Folders (Mac) or Selective Sync (Windows).
  4. Check the folders you want to save on the hard drive.
  5. Uncheck the folders you want to delete.
  6. Click to update.

This feature is available to all Dropbox users, even if you have Dropbox Basic.

This is how Smart Sync works:
Paying users with Dropbox Plus, Family, Professional, or Business has an additional option: Smart Sync. You can also free up hard disk space with Smart Sync. Instead of completely removing files and folders, you can create only files and folders online. They will still be visible on your computer, but will only be stored in your Dropbox account online. Once you want to use the file, you must first download it.

See also  So, this or so the new Spuiplein would look like: Three options and you can participate in the decision-making process

There is also an automatic setting that keeps files and folders online only based on how they are used.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *