Two House Republicans expect CNN to have at least 140 House Republicans vote against counting votes

President Donald Trump’s Republican allies have zero chance of reversing the decision, a few hours delay in making sure Biden is inevitably the winner of the election college and the next president.

As confirmed by dozens of judges, governors, election officials, the Electoral College, the judiciary, the Department of Homeland Security and the U.S. Supreme Court, there are no credible allegations of any problem with voting. But Trump is adamant that he has not lost – he did it, substantially – and many GOP politicians share his delusion or fear that he will provoke anger – even if he votes to undermine democracy.

Both councilors and senators must object when Congress votes are counted. Sen. of the Republican Party of Missouri. Josh Hawley said Wednesday He would object, Which will force legislators in both the House and Senate to vote on whether to accept the results of Python’s victory. Other senators – including incoming individuals – may still join the effort, with Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell personally urging Republicans not to do so.

Trump has been pushing for Congress to try to change the outcome of the election, as his campaign attempts to thwart the election through the courts have been repeatedly rejected.

Nebraska Sen. Ben Sauce Spoke In a Facebook post Wednesday night against that strategy – and the complicity of some of his GOP colleagues, he urged Republicans to “reject” the attempt to protest the certification process.

“The president and his allies are playing with fire,” he wrote. “They are first asking the courts, then the state legislatures, now the Congress – to overturn the results of the presidential election. They have successfully summoned judges and now called on federal office officials to invalidate millions and millions of votes. If you make big claims, you have the best evidence. There are no members of the opposition Congress institutional firebrand and no president. “

See also  Once healed, you become infected again: this seems to be possible with Omigran

Representatives are among a dozen Republicans who have already publicly stated they will vote against counting votes next week. Mo Brooks of Alabama, Jodie Hayes of Georgia, Jeff Van Drew of New Jersey and Joe Wilson of South Carolina leading the effort.

The group includes eight Republican legislators from Pennsylvania who announced their intentions in a joint statement earlier Thursday.

Several incoming Republican lawmakers have stated opposition to the certification process, including Georgia’s elected representatives Marjorie Taylor Green, Madison Cowthorn of North Carolina, Lauren Bobert of Colorado and Diana Harshberger of Tennessee.

This story has been updated with additional information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *