Zimbabwe hosts the Women’s World Cup qualifiers

The 2021 Women’s World Cup qualifiers for the 2022 World Cup will be held in Zimbabwe later this year. The International Cricket Council has announced that the 10-team tournament will be held in Harare from November 21 to December 5.

Initially, Sri Lanka was scheduled to host the qualifiers in July 2020, but the Govt-19 epidemic forced the postponement, as well as a major event in New Zealand.

The ten teams competing for three places in the World Cup include Pakistan, the West Indies, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Ireland – in addition to the five regional teams that won their matches in 2019.

Zimbabwe will represent Africa, Thailand Asia, Papua New Guinea Asia and the East Pacific, with the Netherlands playing European champion and the United States champion.

When the top three places reach the eight-team ODI World Cup in March-April 2022, the next two teams in the tournament will secure their place in the upcoming ICC Women’s Championship.

The next cycle of the Women’s International Cricket Championship will go to eight to ten teams, so five places will be open. After finishing in the top five in the previous ICC Women’s Championship, the other five places qualify for the ODI World Cup automatically – Australia, England, India, South Africa and New Zealand.

“I would like to express our heartfelt thanks to the ICC Board of Directors for their generous gesture of hosting the 2021 Women’s World Cup Qualifiers,” said Zimbabwe Cricket’s Davingwa Mugohlani.

“For our part, we will make every effort to ensure that this prestigious global event emerges as a unique event that celebrates all the excellence, wealth, vitality, diversity and pride of Zimbabwe. A sign of hope.

“You can be sure that we will not deceive you. We will not deceive Zimbabwe, we will not deceive cricket.

See also  Ankara calls on ambassadors to release businessman Osman Guard

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *